Next Reliability TF Meeting July 23-4

Subject: UFTO Note — Next Reliability TF Meeting July 23-4
Date: Tue, 08 Jul 1997 13:34:53 -0700
From: Ed Beardsworth

Here is an advance copy of the draft agenda for the next meeting of the DOE Task Force.

| ** UFTO ** Edward Beardsworth ** Consultant
| 951 Lincoln Ave. tel 415-328-5670
| Palo Alto CA 94301-3041 fax 415-328-5675

Secretary of Energy Advisory Board; Notice of Open Meeting
AGENCY: Department of Energy
SUMMARY: Consistent with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (Public Law 92-463, 86 Stat. 770), notice is hereby given of the following advisory committee meeting:
Name: Secretary of Energy Advisory Board – Electric System Reliability Task Force

DATES AND TIMES: Wednesday, July 23, 1997, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM and Thursday, July 24, 1997, 8:30 AM – 11:30 AM
ADDRESS: Bechtel Corporation, Hoteling Suites, Second Floor, 50 Beale Street, San Francisco, California
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Richard C. Burrow, Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (AB-1), U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20585, (202) 586-1709 or (202) 586-6279 (fax).

The electric power industry is in the midst of a complex transition to competition, which will induce many far-reaching changes in the structure of the industry and the institutions which regulate it. This transition raises many reliability issues, as new entities emerge in the power markets and as generation becomes less integrated with transmission.

Purpose of the Task Force
The purpose of the Electric System Reliability Task Force is to provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board regarding the critical institutional, technical, and policy issues that need to be addressed in order to maintain the reliability of the nation’s bulk electric system in the context of a more competitive industry.

Tentative Agenda
Wednesday, July 23
1:00 – 1:30 PM Opening Remarks & Introductions;
Philip Sharp, ESR Task Force Chairman
1:30 – 2:45 PM Working Session: Review of the Draft
ESR Task Force Interim Report
2:45 – 3:00 PM Break
3:00 – 4:30 PM Working Session: continued
4:30 – 5:00 PM Public Comment Period
5:00 PM Adjourn

Thursday, July 24
8:30 – 8:45 AM Opening Remarks & Summary of Agreements;
Philip Sharp, ESR Task Force Chairman
8:45 – 10:00 AM Working Session: continued
10:00 – 10:15 AM Break
10:15 – 11:00 AM Discussion: Next Steps — Approach to Addressing
& Resolving the Remaining Task Force Issues
11:00 – 11:30 AM Public Comment Period
11:30 AM Adjourn

This tentative agenda is subject to change. The final agenda will be available at the meeting.

Public Participation: The Chairman of the Task Force is empowered to conduct the meeting in a fashion that will, in the Chairman’s judgment, facilitate the orderly conduct of business. During its meeting in San Francisco, California the Task Force welcomes public comment. Members of the public will be heard in the order in which they sign up at the beginning of the meeting. The Task Force will make every effort to hear the views of all interested parties. Written comments may be submitted to Skila Harris, Executive Director, Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, AB-1, US Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20585. This notice is being published less than 15 days before the date of the meeting due to programmatic issues that had to be resolved prior to publication.

Minutes: Minutes and a transcript of the meeting will be available for public review and copying approximately 30 days following the meeting at the Freedom of Information Public Reading Room, 1E-190 Forrestal Building, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC, between 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday except Federal holidays. Information on the Electric System Reliability Task Force may also be found at the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board’s web site, located at

Issued at Washington, DC, on
Rachel M. Samuel Deputy Advisory Committee Management Officer

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply