SEAB TF Meeting Announced

Subject: UFTO Note – SEAB TF Meeting Announced
Date: Wed, 08 Jan 1997 15:51:51 -0800
From: Ed Beardsworth <>

| ** UFTO ** Edward Beardsworth ** Consultant
| 951 Lincoln Ave. tel 415-328-5670
| Palo Alto CA 94301-3041 fax 415-328-5675

Here is the official announcement of the first meeting of the SEAB Task Force on Reliability, adapted from the Federal Register of Dec 30.

Note that the meeting is open, and public participation is permitted.

Secretary of Energy Advisory Board
Electric System Reliability Task Force

Thursday, January 16, 1997, 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM

JW Marriott Hotel
Capital Ballroom – Salon E
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20004

Richard C. Burrow
Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (AB-1)
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585
(202) 586-1709

Background: The electric power industry is in the midst of a complex transition to competition, which will induce many far-reaching changes in the structure of the industry and the institutions which regulate it. This transition raises many reliability issues, as new entities emerge in the power markets and as generation becomes less integrated with transmission.

Purpose of the Task Force: The purpose of the Electric System Reliability Task Force is to provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board regarding the critical institutional, technical, and policy issues that need to be addressed in order to maintain the reliability of the nation’s bulk electric system in the context of a more competitive industry.

Subject: UFTO Note – SEAB TF Meeting Announced Page 2 of 2
Date: Wed, 08 Jan 1997 15:51:51 -0800

Tentative Agenda

8:30 – 9:15 Opening Remarks
Hazel R. O’Leary, Secretary of Energy
Bob Hanfling, Chairman, Secretary of Energy Advisory Board
Phil Sharp, Chairman, Electric System Reliability Task Force

9:15 – 9:30 Task Force Member Introductions

9:30 – 9:45 Break

9:45 – 10:30 Institutional Reliability Issues
Mike Gent, National Electric Reliability Council

10:30 – 11:15 Technical Reliability Issues
Karl Stahlkopf, Electric Power Research Institute

11:15 – 11:45 State Reliability Perspectives
Duncan Kincheloe, Missouri Public Utility Commission

11:45 – 1:00 Lunch

1:00 – 1:30 Federal Policy Issues
Charles B. Curtis, Deputy Secretary of Energy

1:30 – 2:00 Public Comment

2:00 – 4:30 Development of a Task Force Work Plan

4:30 Adjourn

This tentative agenda is subject to change.

The final agenda will be available at the meeting. Public Participation: The Chairman of the Task Force is empowered to conduct the meeting in a fashion that will, in the Chairman’s judgment, facilitate the orderly conduct of business. During its meeting in Washington, D.C. the Task Force welcomes public comment. Members of the public will be heard in the order in which they sign up at the beginning of the meeting. The Task Force will make every effort to hear the views of all interested parties. Written comments may be submitted to David Cheney, Acting Executive Director, Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, AB-1, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20585.

Minutes: Minutes and a transcript of the meeting will be available for public review and copying approximately 30 days following the meeting at the Freedom of Information Public Reading Room, 1E-190 Forrestal Building, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC, between 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday except Federal holidays.

December 20, 1996

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply